In the depth of winter…

“In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer.” – Albert Camus

I want to post this quote everywhere – on my computer, on my bathroom mirror, on my front door so I have to read it before I go outside. Every year, like everyone else (at least in Canada), I have to face winter. I need to remember the ‘invincible summer’ that is inside of me – the summer where the sun shines on me and I can visit our neighbors until 9pm, go swimming and running, and generally feel a lightness in my step and heart. I need to remember that the summer that will be here in 5 months (or less if it comes early!).  The changing of the seasons is a reminder that things are changing, that the only constant in life is change, and that we can’t be happy or healthy or ‘on top of our game’ 100% of the time. And that is okay. Not only is that okay, but it is necessary – bears hibernate and caterpillars cocoon and communities go through times of stillness. We need to give ourselves permission to slow down and take a pause. So on that note, I’m off, to curl up under a blanket with a warm cup of tea and a good book.

 

One thought on “In the depth of winter…

Leave a Reply

